An Opportunity for knowledge

Today Renee and I visited the Book Fair at Fernkloof.  There were many interesting books on display and I, somewhat cheekily, thought that perhaps I should have set myself up there to sign copies of my autobiography!!!  A windgat idea, I know, but the actual reason for my writing this is to say that I managed to find a copy of Marie Vogts’ book, South Africa’s Proteaceae, published in 1982, but still a useful reference.  With this at my side I should be better able to identify the species we encounter on our walks.  Let’s hope so – and, let’s face it, I need all the help I can get!

The first thing I did with it was try to confirm a protea we saw at Genadendal on Wednesday.  Lee thinks its a Protea nitida, but I’m not so sure.  I think it might be a P. inopina, only occurring in a small area to the NW of the Olifants River mountains.  Way outside its distribution area, but who knows – this may be a new locality for this unusual plant.  It is shown below.

The enigmatic bloom

Leave a Reply

