Simon Stone

In March 2007, I asked my cousin, Simon Stone, to paint a portrait of Renee.  He was still living in Knysna and we spent some time at his studio, so that Renee could sit for him.  I utilised my time photographing in the studio and really enjoyed the experience.  Simon is a wonderful artist and I relished the opportunity to get close to his work and get some idea of what makes him tick.  The portrait was a great success and hangs proudly in our sitting room, but the photographs that I took have never had any exposure, so I thought to give my readers some inkling of his work through my blog.  You may gather, from the images of recovered fishing sinkers, that Simon spent a lot of his time diving and he also enjoyed painting his collection of sinkers.  He had thousands of them!

Leave a Reply

