Goosed on a morning walk!

This morning, whilst walking past the golf course, I noticed a noisy pair of Egyptian Geese in a pine tree at the side of the road.  As I approached one of them flew down into my path and adopted a very threatening pose with its wings flared.  It squawked and hissed loudly and came to within two metres of me.  I carried on, hoping it would keep its distance and, as I passed the tree, its partner flew out of the branches accompanied by a number of young goslings, which literally tumbled to the ground.  They scooted of in the direction of the fairway and I departed unharmed, but certainly full of new respect for the protective attitude adopted by this large bird.

Leave a Reply

