Epic Birding

I set out this morning hoping to do some bird-watching along the Swartrivier road. First stop was at the iron bridge, where I was lucky to see a pair of Cardinal Woodpeckers.  Then on to the gravel and a Black Crake revealed itself. All was going well, but then I spotted a marshal in the road and realised that I was about to drive onto a part of the Cape Epic course.

The cyclists were about to come through, so that was the end of my birding. No matter, a few minutes later the yellow jersey group came through and I was privileged to see the best mountain bikers in the world racing past me!  Unfortunately I did not have the right camera with me, but managed to get some shots, anyway.

After half an hour of watching the race, decided to return home, but stopped in at the Onrus lagoon, where I was extremely lucky and saw a Squacco Heron; a great addition to my Challenge list!  My morning’s birding netted me 58 species – not a lot, but some interesting and rarely seen birds amongst them.

2 thoughts on “Epic Birding

Leave a Reply

